Columbus County

Columbus County is located in North Carolina's Southeastern region and is grouped regionally for economic development with Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, New Hanover, Pender, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson and Scotland counties. The county seat is Whiteville; other Columbus County cities include Boardman, Bolton, Brunswick, Cerro Gordo, Chadbourn, Fair Bluff, Hallsboro, Lake Waccamaw, Sandyfield, and Tabor City. It has a population close to 55,000 people. It is also home to the Waccamaw Siouan tribe, whose homeland territory is at the edge of the Green Swamp near Lake Waccamaw.

Hometown Strong’s Action Team visited Columbus County in January 2019, where they heard many priorities from county and municipal leaders. From among those, Hometown Strong and Columbus County are partnering to explore ways to expand broadband and water supply.